Skip Navigation Bar
National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome Records 1983-1994
full text File Size: 93 K bytes | Add this to my bookbag


Access and Use


Gift, John L. Parascandola, PHS Historian's Office, 3/1/1994, Acc. #812. Gift, Donald Goldman, Acc. #2005-21.

Access Restrictions:

No restrictions on access.

Copyright and Re-use Information

The National Library of Medicine believes these materials to be in the public domain. Archival collections often contain mixed copyrights; while NLM is the owner of the physical items, permission to examine collection materials is not an authorization to publish. These materials are made available for use in research, teaching, and private study. It is the user's responsibility to research and understand any applicable copyright and re-publication rights not allowed by fair use. NLM does not grant permissions to publish.

Privacy Information

Archives and manuscript collections may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations. Researchers are advised that the disclosure of certain information pertaining to identifiable living individuals represented in any collection without the consent of those individuals may have legal ramifications for which the National Library of Medicine assumes no responsibility.

Preferred Citation:

United States. National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome. National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome Records. 1983-1994. Located in: Archives and Modern Manuscripts Collection, History of Medicine Division, National Library of Medicine, Bethesda, MD; MS C 544.

Commission Members List

  • June E. Osborn, M.D., Chairman
  • David E. Rogers, M.D., Vice Chairman
  • The Honorable Diane Ahrens
  • K. Scott Allen
  • Don C. Des Jarlais, Ph.D.
  • Eunice Diaz, M.S., M.P.H.
  • Mary D. Fisher
  • Donald S. Goldman, Esq.
  • Larry Kessler
  • Charles Konigsberg, Jr. M.D., M.P.H.
  • The Honorable J. Roy Rowland, M.D.

Ex Officio

  • Les Aspin, Ph. D., Secretary of Defense
  • Donna E Shalala, Secretary of Health and Human Services
  • Jesse Brown, Secretary of Veterans Affairs

Department of Defense

  • Col. Michael R. Peterson, D.V.M., Dr. P.H., Executive Secretary, Armed Forces Epidemiological Board

Department of Health and Human Services National AIDS Program Office

  • James R. Allen, M.D., M.P.H., Former Director
  • Valerie Setlow, Ph.D., Acting Director

Department of Veterans Affairs

  • Irwin Pernick, J.D., Former Counselor to the Secretary, Associated Deputy Assistant for Policy
  • Marvelu R. Peterson, Ph.D., Associate Director, AIDS Services

Former Members

  • Harlon L. Dalton, Esq.
  • Earvin Johnson, Jr.
  • Belinda Mason
  • Richard B. Cheney, Former Secretary of Defense
  • Edward J. Derwinski, M.D., Former Secretary of Veterans Affairs
  • Louis W. Sullivan, M.D., Former Secretary of Health and Human Services